Mexican Pizza

IMG_3397When you’re a student sometimes you would simply rather eat a pizza pocket or good ol’ mr. noodles for dinner, come on we’ve all been there. Well my friends I bring good news, here is an easy, healthy, and probably a lot more delicious alternative…I give you the mexican pizza! Driving home from work on Tuesday, which happens to be my busiest day (6.5 hours of class followed by 3 hours of work), all I could think about was how badly I DIDN’T want to cook dinner. Conquering the urge to stop at one of the many glutinous eateries surrounding my apartment building, I found myself rummaging through my fridge, pulling out an assortment of ingredients. Here is the recipe that this restless mind conjured.

2 whole wheat tortillas

organic olive oil

garlic

avocado

tomato

onion

grilled chicken (from previous dinner)

feta

Directions: Preheat the oven to 375′. Place both tortillas on a non-stick baking sheet and brush with organic olive oil and set aside. Slice up your already grilled chicken (feel free to use any leftover meats you may have from a previous dinner), 1 small hot house tomato, onions and avocado. Mince 2 cloves of garlic (one for each tortilla) and sprinkle over both, along with the chicken, tomatoes, onions and crumpled feta. Bake in the oven for 10 minutes or until golden. Once you’ve removed your pizzas from the oven garnish with your avocado and enjoy!

I hope this recipe saves someone from caving in to their disastrous craving.

Xo

Leave a comment